Deprecated: Function ereg() is deprecated in /home/gcguitarists/public_html/guitar_forum/view_bb.php on line 20
Guitar Forums: Electric Guitar: Change pickup without removing strings?
Guitarists.net - The Online Guitar Community
 
Click here to register.
Password Reminder

 » Home » Guitar Discussions » Electric Guitar » Change pickup without removing strings?
Options: Forums:
Change pickup without removing strings?
Wubblelvr
IP: Logged
Status: Member
Posts: 16
Join Date: 3/20/2009

Hey guys, well I was wondering is it possible to put in 1 new pickup without removing the strings? I want to put a red lace pickup in there. Oh and which place would be best for me to put it, neck, middle or bridge? Its a fender strat btw

Post Date: 5/30/2009 @ 5:02 pm
RE: Change pickup without removing strings?
Avatar for AnthemBassMan
AnthemBassMan
IP: Logged
Status: G-Net FarmBoy, Esq.
Posts: 2,095
Join Date: 3/04/2003

-Red Lace is usually for the bridge. You 'can' put it in without taking the strings off, but you have to really get them slacked enough to be able to pull the pickguard out without gouging the body up. From there just remove the screws holding the p'up in, flip the guard over to unsolder the old p'up and reinstall the Lace according to the wiring diagram. But personally, don't let a $6 pack of strings keep you from doing this easier.

L8R,
Matt

"POOR"

"You cannot help the poor by destroying the rich. You cannot strengthen the weak by weakening the strong. You cannot bring about prosperity by discouraging thrift. You cannot lift the wage earner up by pulling the wage payer down. You cannot further the brotherhood of man by inciting class hatred. You cannot build character and courage by taking away people's initiative and independence. You cannot help people permanently by doing for them, what they could and should do for themselves.."

Abraham Lincoln



http://home-and-garden.webshots.com/album/90303865mmHNEG

Post Date: 5/30/2009 @ 5:57 pm

RE: Change pickup without removing strings?
Wubblelvr
IP: Logged
Status: Member
Posts: 16
Join Date: 3/20/2009

I just didnt want my intonation to f-up

Post Date: 5/30/2009 @ 7:41 pm

RE: Change pickup without removing strings?
Avatar for Poskaboy
Poskaboy
IP: Logged
Status: Advanced Member
Posts: 418
Join Date: 6/06/2002

Your intonation isn't going to get screwed up unless you change the saddle length at the bridge. I don't think slacking the strings to pull the pickguard out would cause any problems with that. Honestly, I'd just buy a set of strings or wait to put the new pickup in when you'd change the strings anyways.

Post Date: 5/30/2009 @ 7:52 pm

RE: Change pickup without removing strings?
Avatar for Chuck King
Chuck King
IP: Logged
Status: Preferred Member
Posts: 1,851
Join Date: 1/24/2007

As long as you stay with the same kind of strings, you shouldn't have to do intonation adjustments just from putting new strings on.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My music blog: http://chucksmusicblog.blogspot.com

Post Date: 5/31/2009 @ 9:12 am

RE: Change pickup without removing strings?
oldwolf
IP: Logged
Status: Junior Member
Posts: 131
Join Date: 5/25/2009

Take off the strings, and put on new ones after the pickup is installed. Unless you mess with the height adjustment screws, or the intonation bolts that hold the saddles on, you are not going to change anything that would affect the intonation, as long as you put the same gauge strings back on it. You are going to have to change strings every few weeks anyhow, or your intonation will definitely suffer, as the strings wear out! There's no better time to put a new set on, than while doing that installation. There are too many chances for damaging the pickups, or the finish of your instrument, without removing the strings.
Gene Warner
repairman

Post Date: 5/31/2009 @ 9:15 pm

RE: Change pickup without removing strings?
Avatar for Knucklehead
Knucklehead
IP: Logged
Status: Preferred Member
Posts: 1,307
Join Date: 4/17/2008

Hey, maybe the guy just likes the sound of "aged" strings - maybe "reliced" is a more appropriate term? Anyway, I don't care - I figgered out how to bust his balls without getting accused of hating, which was my main objective.

I have both kinds of guitars - Fender AND Gibson.

Post Date: 6/1/2009 @ 8:06 pm

RE: Change pickup without removing strings?
lorazepam37
IP: Logged
Status: Member
Posts: 20
Join Date: 6/07/2013

Easy tip is here with me to changing of the tunes without any kind of the moving about the strings that we have to introduce while once. Reinstall to such of the strings from the custom writing services website every guitar that will be electric have to perform there.

Post Date: 6/28/2019 @ 3:45 am

RE: Change pickup without removing strings?
beforerootingAndroid
IP: Logged
Status: New Member
Posts: 1
Join Date: 7/10/2019
As a matter of fact, some establishing programming additionally enable you to unroot Android gadget. things to do before rooting Android Some antivirus or firewall arrangement may meddle with your establishing procedure. Sweep every one of the records that you downloaded for establishing as it might be viewed as a malware or infection. Also, debilitate your antivirus or firewall before establishing.

Post Date: 7/10/2019 @ 5:37 am

RE: Change pickup without removing strings?
blusoftwareupdate
IP: Logged
Status: New Member
Posts: 1
Join Date: 7/11/2019
A ultimate choice on what HDR groups a film shows up in on 4K Blu-beam presently is by all BLU Software update accounts down to the desires of every individual movie producer - suggesting that the Alita HDR circumstance is down to the desires.

Post Date: 7/11/2019 @ 2:41 am

RE: Change pickup without removing strings?
onlinegethelp
IP: Logged
Status: New Member
Posts: 1
Join Date: 7/11/2019

Hi all, my name is Josh George and I am working with Avast customer help team as an ISE completer to clean-up customer’s queries. Not only I but our entire team of well-experienced and knowledgeable professionals is working day and night to tackle down all our customer’s issues associated with Avast Antivirus. Simply, contact Avast Customer Support Phone Number team by dialing toll-free and see your entire list of problems terminated once and for all.

Post Date: 7/11/2019 @ 3:57 am

Options:
Display:
Sort:
All content © of Guitarists.net 1999 - 2019.
Comments or problems? Feel free to let us know.
Privacy Policy :: Site Map :: Terms of Use Policy.